Author Topic: Slopes in Monaghan area  (Read 14834 times)

Oeshy

• View Profile
Slopes in Monaghan area
« on: October 18, 2014, 10:44:47 AM »
Hi all, I'm new to Ireland (just moved from Durban in South Africa) and I'm living in the Monaghan area. Do you know of any good slopes in the area and any active pilots? Thank you 😃👍
Sean Oellermann

Happy Days

• ISR Club Member
    • View Profile
Slopes in Monaghan area
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2014, 11:53:41 AM »
Hi Oeshy,
 I’m afraid I don’t know any slopes very near you. :?:  I’m in Wexford so I don’t get up to your part of the woods very often.

A regular contributor to this forum, "JP" lives in Armagh. He might know of some.

So what models have you flown before moving to Ireland? Do you have any slope soarers at this time?

Little Keith
Try not to run out of airspeed, altitude and ideas....... all at the same time.

Fred

• Slope Soaring is not a crime!
  • Administrator
  • Gliderist Simplex
    • View Profile
    • http://www.gliderireland.net
Slopes in Monaghan area
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2014, 15:51:17 PM »
Hi there,

Welcome to the forum, and in Ireland!  :D

I don't know anybody from your area, but as Keith said, the closest I can think of from you, is Armagh in NI. Contact John here on the forum, he might be able to help.

As for slopes, the closest I could find, are in Slieve Gullion (not to be confounded with Slieve Gallion, more North to you.

Saw them on the "Slope Locator" (http://gliderireland.net/index.php/slope-locator ), but never tried or been there  :(
You also have the MACI website (http://www.maci.ie ) just in case if you haven't checked yet, but nothing I can see in your area.

And next time you are in Dublin, let me know, happy to show you around, and the slopes here :)

Fred
Education is important, but flying RC planes and gliders is importanter!

Oeshy

• View Profile
Slopes in Monaghan area
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2014, 00:02:55 AM »
Hi guys,

Thank you for getting backto me