Author Topic: Editing long video sequences  (Read 7723 times)

Happy Days

• ISR Club Member
    • View Profile
Editing long video sequences
« on: September 14, 2010, 12:38:28 PM »
I know this is a little bit off topic, but purely in an effort to share knowledge…… :)

When I was a teenager I worked as a projectionist in a local cinema. After watching the same film 20 or more times each week it was possible learn some of the principles of how they were ’put together.’ (Films I mean, not projectionists )

Although there are exceptions, as a general rule, most shots are on screen for no more than 8 seconds (Watch any TV production or film and count the number of seconds any one shot is on screen. Most will be less than 8 seconds.)

One way an editor has of showing an audience a long section of the same footage is to cut the footage into varying lengths, normally between 4 and 8 seconds. Then “join” the sections together with, what used to be called a ‘Cross Fade’. Today (in Windows Movie Maker at any rate) this transitions is referred to simply as a “Fade”.

Doing this gives the audience the impression of the passing of time, increase the ‘pace’ of the film, and serves to hold the audience’s attention better.

Look, here are two examples of the same footage. The first, as was originally posted some years ago, (No offence intended to the original editor,) the second has been cut into a series of shorter scenes with Cross Fades to join them up.
Same footage, same sound track, just slightly tighter editing.

It’s largely a personal preference thing, and the difference is only subtle,  but see which one you prefer.

http://vimeo.com/14953418

Keith
Try not to run out of airspeed, altitude and ideas....... all at the same time.

Richard Boyd

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 19:27:58 PM »
Extremely interesting Keith, your a man of many talents.