Author Topic: Applying oracover / solafilm  (Read 6517 times)

stephen.shannon

• View Profile
Applying oracover / solafilm
« on: May 20, 2013, 23:06:25 PM »
Hi All,

Just looking for some guidance please. I'm about to embark on my first use of solafilm. My plan is to cover two wings with white covering. I was about to start typing a load of questions but realised I don't know what questions to ask. Has any one a step by step guide to this?

I'm concerned about seams, how much slack to leave, does one use two pieces to cover the top and bottom of the wing or one single piece, how do you hinge the aileron on the wing.

All guidance is appreciated, thanks

Stephen [/img]
Our deepest fear is not that we are weak but that we are powerful beyond measure..... Marianne Williamson

Happy Days

• ISR Club Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2013, 10:29:49 AM »
Covering a model airframe is a skill unto itself Stephen, and I’m no expert. :roll:  (Trust me on this!) Hopefully some of the forums real experts will enhance this advice.

Convention states that a wing is covered in two phases. Underside first, then the top covering. As far as seams are concerned, an overlap of between 1/8” to possibly ¼” is the norm. (So the top layer will overlap the bottom layer. Savvy?

As for ‘sticking’ the Solafilm:
Don’t forget to remove the backing from the Solafilm before trying to stick it. :wink:

To try and explain the task in words is rather difficult, Stephen. Here’s one of a number of videos on You Tube that will take you through the process. I haven’t watched it all myself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_D2zqXzcfw

As for hinging the aileron. There are dozens of different ways. Personally I use the quickest, which I’ve found to be 'Diamond' sellotape! (Less time in the workshop = more time on the slope! )