Author Topic: A list of modifications for the “Sport” Phase 6.  (Read 8858 times)

Happy Days

• ISR Club Member
    • View Profile
A list of modifications for the “Sport” Phase 6.
« on: February 16, 2011, 14:59:58 PM »
Just in case anyone is tempted to build a new model for the forthcoming season, and as it’s pi**ing down with rain outside so I can’t fly mine, I thought I’d share my experiences of modifying the ubiquitous “Phase 6.”

I’m not an expert on this, (or any other subject) but I have been flying (and crashing) Phase 6’s regularly of the past three years and, therefore, have gained some fair amount of knowledge as to their strengths and weaknesses.

Of course, as with most changes from original designs, there can be disadvantages as well as advantages.  In my personal view these modifications serve as overall improvements in the planes structure and performance.

Most of these modifications are best, and indeed some of them can only be done, while building the plane from scratch. Modifying an existing plane could prove rather tricky.

1/ The most important alteration from the original instructions is NOT to use a single, central, aileron servo. The problem surrounds the fact that such a servo, fitted into the underside of the wing, means that part of the servo will protrude down into the saddle area of the fuse. This fact is not a problem in itself until the pilot has one of those awkward landings when one wing tip touches Terra Firma before the rest of the airframe. The retaining wing plate will snap (as it’s supposed to,) allowing the wing to rotate and separate from the fuse. The result is that the servo forces the insides of the fuse apart,…….breaking the fuse at the wing saddle area. Just what you don’t want!

The solution therefore, is to fit two smaller servos into the underside of the wing, in front of each aileron. Not difficult to do as I shall now explain.