Author Topic: Slope maiden  (Read 17003 times)

Anonymous

Slope maiden
« on: March 13, 2007, 10:52:51 AM »
Hi guys!

Thought I'd share my first slope experience!

I am a complete newbie to slope soaring, and have recently purchased an EPP model (Windrider EasyPro) to learn the ropes. I have also been scouting around my area (Co. Kerry, Ireland) for slopes with potential, and recently found one almost right on my back yard! Its just 2.5km up the valley from my house in Ballymacelligott.  I found out the farmer who owns it, and he's happy to let me fly there.

The other day it all came together! There was a light SW wind generally, but it was surprisingly strong up at this slope. Chucked the plane off, and JOY, it's a dream, and the slope works really well too. The only downside is there are some pine trees at one side, and its a small area, not suited to big or very fast planes. There is a fantastic landing zone - a big, soft flat pasture. There is even a nice ridge for shelter right at the edge of the cliff!

This has to be the best fun I've had yet in my (limited) experience with RC (or with my clothes on)!

Hope you can enjoy the photos (even the radical right turn launch was sucessfuly recovered!) in the following post:

http://www.rctalk.co.uk/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=3719

Chris

Fred

• Slope Soaring is not a crime!
  • Administrator
  • Gliderist Simplex
    • View Profile
    • http://www.gliderireland.net
Slope maiden
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2007, 12:29:13 PM »
=D>

Well done Chris !
And the slope looks very good as well !  =P~
Education is important, but flying RC planes and gliders is importanter!

Alan_Perse

• ISR Club Member
    • View Profile
Slope maiden
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2007, 12:41:44 PM »
Yes I agree. Well done Chris =D> . I love to fly that slope some day myself =P~. Love the new smily faces Fred  :mrgreen: .

Fred

• Administrator
  • Gliderist Simplex
    • View Profile
Slope maiden
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2007, 12:54:32 PM »