Author Topic: Choose an electric power setup?  (Read 15210 times)

angry_muppet

• View Profile
Choose an electric power setup?
« on: June 16, 2016, 21:22:34 PM »
I know it was suggested to keep the Euro Trainer I'm trying to get flying as an IC model...  But as I'm new to the whole hobby, I'd like to stay clean with electric, at least at the moment.  When I have more money (i.e. in 40 years when I'm retired...) I can go IC then!  ::)

Anyway, how does one choose from the plethora of options on our favourite Hong Kong site?

The EuroTrainer stats are thus:

Wingspan:1500mm
Mean chord:290mm (or thereabouts)
Wing Area:43.5dm2
"Empty" weight:1.6kg
Expected "flying" weight:Approx 3.0kg (~400g motor, 900g battery, 100g wires etc)
Wing loading:approx 69g/dm2 (22oz/ft2)

Using google, it suggested this http://flbeagle.rchomepage.com/software/webocalc_1.5.2/html/webocalc_metric.html.

This calculator suggests (using a 6s battery, chosen so I could use one pack across several models in my "Dream hangar"):

20C30C
Motor900kV760kV
Prop10x510x5
ESC70A60A

Would that seem to be in the correct region?

What would the effect be if I use a higher "C" rated battery with the low "C" setup?  Would it just be less stressed?

EI1638

• View Profile
Re: Choose an electric power setup?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2016, 09:02:35 AM »
I would have expected the higher C to be associated with the higher current setup. What's missing from the info is the motor wattage. It's usual to derate the ESC (electronics don't like heat), and to give substantial overhead in terms of the esc.e.g. estimated peak current 50 A,  esc rsted 75 A. In many electronics designs it's not unusual to derate electronic devices by 50%, and sometimes more.

Based on the weight it looks like you need a 400, 500W system, as in the battery needs to be able to supply 500 watts for the expected flight duration, without damaging itself, the ESC, or the motor.